Mission and Organization

The NIGMS Human Genetic Cell Repository (NIGMS Repository) is sponsored by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) and supplies scientists with materials for accelerating cell and biomedical research. The resources available include highly characterized, contaminant-free cell cultures and high quality, well-characterized DNA samples derived from these cultures. Established in 1972 at the Coriell Institute for Medical Research, the NIGMS Repository contains more than 11,400 cell lines, primarily fibroblasts and transformed lymphoblasts, and over 5,800 DNA samples. Currently, the NIGMS HGCR catalog also contains over 40 iPSC lines. The NIGMS Repository has a major emphasis on heritable diseases and chromosomally aberrant cell lines. In addition, it contains a large collection dedicated to understanding human variation that includes samples from populations around the world, the CEPH collection, the Polymorphism Discovery Resource, and many apparently healthy controls. Human induced pluripotent stem cell lines, many of which were derived from NIGMS Repository fibroblasts, have recently become available through the NIGMS Repository.

Samples from the collection have been used in more than 5,900 publications and are distributed to scientists in more than 50 countries. This resource is continuously expanding to support new directions in human genetics.

Organization and Contact Information

NIH Staff

Donna Krasnewich, M.D., Ph.D.Science Officer
Program Director 
NIGMS, NIH 

Michael Bender, Ph.D.  - Program Officer
Program Director
Division of Genetics and Developmental Biology
NIGMS, NIH

 

Coriell Staff

Nahid Turan, Ph.D. - Principal Investigator
Email: nturan@coriell.org
Phone: (856) 757-4833

Deborah Requesens, Ph.D. - Co-Principal Investigator
Email: drequesens@coriell.org
Phone: (856) 757-9744

Sherryann Wert, M.A. - Project Manager
Email: swert@coriell.org
Phone: (856) 757-9730

Jose Santana - Project Manager
Email: jsantana@coriell.org 
Phone: (856) 757-4849

Brittney Martinez - Project Manager
Email: bmartinez@coriell.org 
Phone: (856) 641-6992

Julia Keklak - Project Manager 
Email: jkeklak@coriell.org  
Phone: (856) 757-9761

General Inquiries 

Email: NIGMS@coriell.org